Does updating my ipad delete my pictures
Here's a breakdown of what you can and can't delete within the Photos app of your i Phone or i Pad! Newer versions of i OS automatically sort some types of photos into albums for you.
When you turn on i Cloud Photos, the photos from your Camera Roll are added to the All Photos album.These albums currently can't be deleted by the user. If you want to delete them, or specific photos within them, you'll need to go through i Tunes again.For example, if you want to delete select photos from an album, you'll need to delete them from the album Some albums created by third-party apps used to give users trouble when it came to managing them, but deleting them is actually a lot easier than some people think.Learn how to manage i Cloud Photos, find missing photos and videos, and delete the ones you don’t want anymore.After you turn on i Cloud Photos, the Camera Roll album is replaced with an All Photos album.While most of us sync our data with i Cloud these days, it's still safe to assume that some of us also sync with i Tunes in order to manage older photos, videos, and media types.
If this is something you do, it explains why photo albums are causing you problems. The photos themselves will remain in collections, other albums, and in Photo Stream!
If you have an additional device with My Photo Stream turned on and i Cloud Photos turned off, you'll still see a My Photo Stream album on that device.
Any new photos that you take or add to your library show in that album on that device.
The photos and videos themselves won't get deleted, but the album as a whole will.
Are you someone who prefers to back up your photos with i Tunes? Regardless of how you keep your photos and videos organized, if you have any tips for better managing photos on your i Phone or i Pad, feel free to share them in the comments!
Updated August 2018: This article has been updated to reflect steps from i OS 12.